Last time I wrote about needing the fruit of the spirit of self-control with gossip. God must be working on my self-control as this week I found I need to work on self-control in many areas of my life such as over eating, my temper, spending, etc…

The dictionary in the back of my bible states self-control as restraint exercised over one’s own impulses, desires, or emotions; temperance. I know I let my wishes, dreams, desires, needs, and wants come before others, especially my husband.

I decided to turn to the Word to define how I should see the fruit of the spirit of self-control.

Here is where I am now:

Like a city whose walls are broken down
       is a man who lacks self-control.

Proverbs 25:28

Here is how I want to have my walk with Christ defined:

It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age

Titus 2:12

Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed.

1 Peter 1:13

8But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet.

1 Thessalonians 5:8

Please pray for me as I draw near God to become more like Him and exhibit the fruit of spirit of self-control.

Please check out more Fruit of the Spirit Friday and maybe join this amazing meme.

