This week has been a struggle for me with the fruit of the spirit of self-control. I have talked many times with my well-sitter sisters (my wonderful bible study gals) about how easy it is for me to get caught up in the gossip and negativity at my work. I either participate in the gossip by saying something not of God about someone or I spread something I heard from someone else. The other way I gossip is by being an active listener of someone gossiping. I may not speak a word but I am participating by standing there and listening to the gossip.

Two scriptures I need to keep on my heart are below.

Keep vigilant watch over your heart;
   that’s where life starts.
Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth;
   avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip.
Keep your eyes straight ahead;
   ignore all sideshow distractions.
Watch your step,
   and the road will stretch out smooth before you.
Look neither right nor left;
   leave evil in the dust
.

Proverbs 4:23-27 The Message

 Listening to gossip is like eating cheap candy;
   do you really want junk like that in your belly?

Proverbs 18:8 The Message

I know I have trouble at work with gossip and I need to be more focused in prayer on my drive to work asking God to help me avoid these sins. I need to pray for the ability to not get involved in the listening or speaking that is not glorifying to God. I must be absorbed in the Word of God daily so my path stays focused on my Father and the building up of others.

Please check out more Fruit of the Spirit Friday

